You know how you stumble around in the dark until your hand finds the light?  When you flip that switch, you can clearly see where you’re going.  Then when you go to bed, you flip that very same switch and immediately love the darkness that surrounds you as you climb into bed.

Are there ever times when you wish you could flip some kind of switch in your brain?

Wildly waving my hand over here.  Me!  Me!  Me!  I want to climb into bed and flip a brain switch.  No more worrying, no more planning, no more making mental lists, no more thinking.  Please!

I know I’m not alone in my wish.

off switch

Sleep does not come naturally to me.  I envy my husband who falls into bed and is off to slumberland in ten minutes.  Unless I have run myself ragged until midnight, I can never just crawl in bed and go to sleep.

But it’s not that my body isn’t tired that is the problem.  It’s what runs through my mind.  If only *that* would go away, I could sleep!  My body is worn out and my muscles ache.  If it weren’t for my racing thoughts, I’d be out like that light!

When I was a young mom, I thought when I got older my nightly lists and worries would be gone.  WRONG!

And you’d think I would have learned the trick of turning everything over to God for at least 8 hours.

I’m not trying to discourage you from thinking things don’t get better as you get farther along in your Christian life; I’m trying to let you know that we all share similar frustrations.  And growing older in age does not guarantee volumes of answers to our problems and cares.

What I have learned, however, is that I don’t know how I would’ve contended in this world without God, my Father, to talk with each night.  What do people do who have no Abiding Spirit, no Comforter, no Healer and Creator to cry out to?

Each night as I begin to unwind in bed and turn things over to God, I try to remember to apologize to Him for searching for ways to work things out on my own.

And I tell God I’m sorry for just plain not knowing how to ask Him for the right things or even knowing *what* to ask for.  Turning over my frustrations about my own prayers and rambling thoughts and whirling brain often lets me relax enough to simply thank God for the simple things.  Simple things which I’ve been given all day long by Him, and which I’ve taken for granted.

Beginning to thank Him most often leads to that switch in my brain which turns into sleep.

Knowing that God is always “on” with no “OFF” switch is a great comfort, too.  If I wake in the middle of the night, I can turn to His forever glowing Glory and seek His “light” and see my way into his presence without stumbling.

I think that is God’s plan.

by Cindy Best

