Guess what???   I am still depending on God showing me His choice of “words” for me for 2013!

That may not sound like a great thing, but honestly, for me to stay at something for 10 days straight is rather amazing in my life.   My mind flits from one thing to another, kind of like Attention Deficit on caffeine and steroids.  So…it really is remarkable that I have faithfully looked to God each day for how He was going to tell me something about being “NEW” and what it means for me.

Did you pick a word yet?   Or a verse?  Or even an idea for inspiration for your daily life?   I urge you to give it a try.

Blue jay

For me, the way it has played out is that I have lots of friends on Facebook who post daily.  Much of it is inspirational.  I’ve found almost every thing I’ve written in my calendar about “New” from those posts.  It has been awesome to see how God just plops stuff onto my computer screen.  From, so far, NINE different sources…only twice have I looked up a verse about the word “New”…and have been amazed that the very first one I read spoke to my heart.   The second one, I scanned through several others on my way to what really caught my attention.

Do you have something that you need God to speak to you about?  Is there something that pops into your mind that you wish He would address in your life or in your spirit?

I hope you will try this experiment with me this year.   I am excited now each day to see what God will lead me to.  I literally wait all day to decide what it is that God is going to grace me with.   It has become a sort of game I play with God…guessing where the next phrase will show up.

It’s no big deal, but here are a couple of things He has shown me, just to give you an idea of how it is working out in my life:

“A new season is upon you. Take comfort in knowing the Lord has prepared a New way for you and is working to direct all things to lead you down the path He has chosen for you.”(The Whisper of God)

“I will not cause pain without allowing something new to be born says the Lord.” Isaiah 66:9 (via author Angela Hunt)

“And in all things, may you know the peace of God, encouraging you to move forward, empowering you to boldly take each step greeting you as you turn a new corner, calming your heartbeat.” (Dayspring Devotions)

So…give it a try.  Trust God to strengthen your spirit this year.  I’ll keep you informed as the year goes on; and you can feel free to keep me accountable by asking what God has shown me that is “NEW.”  Blessings!!

by Cindy Best

