Well, I’ve got to tell you of something I’m trying for the first time in my life this year.  Maybe you will want to try it too.  In fact, I hope you give it a whirl.

Many of my friends in church choose a “Verse for the Year” which they want to focus on, meditate on and relate to as they follow Christ’s leading in life.   I have chosen  a “Life Verse” in the past, but I’ve never done the “yearly” verse.

This year, however, I’ve felt urged to do the “choose a word” thing as some of my friends have.  I never gave it much thought but the last couple years a few of my friends have shared some of what the Lord has nudged them to do, and I was literally pushed over that cliff on Monday…all of a sudden, just out of the blue, as they say.

And it didn’t take a lot of searching, praying, or meditating to get my “Word” either.   This past year or more actually, I’ve been struggling—more like wrestling—with God in prayer about things in the past.  My past, past choices, past results, past unanswered prayers…you name it.

The word God literally plopped in my mind was “NEW”.   Okay, then.  NEW would be good.  NEW year, NEW idea for my devotion, NEW lesson to learn…you get that, too, don’t you?

God began by dropping the verse in my mind, “Behold, I make all things NEW.”   I knew that verse, but couldn’t recall where in the BIBLE it was.  So, to the Concordance I went.   Revelation 21:5.   Interesting that God took me to the END of the Bible to find something NEW…just a thought on my part, as my brain skips from one thing to another.

So to keep track of what GOD is doing this year, I began something else new.  I went to the store and bought one of those Monthly Planner things…a book that opens up with the current month spread out on a couple pages and a big square for each day…big enough that I can write on the square what God tells, shows, reveals to me that day. (I’m even using colored pencils to draw, highlight words, etc.)

Got to tell you…He is faithful.   I cannot believe what has shown up each day for me to learn and to  be excited about.   Excited because God IS BEING FAITHFUL to my “guess I’ll give this a whirl” mentality/experiment.

I’m not going to bore you with stuff, but just want to share what God gave me on January 1 (my very first day of trying this out–recall now that I only decided to do this whole thing on December 31).  From a distant, Facebook-only friend, who posted this on his wall:   “The object of a New Year is that we should have a new backbone, new ears and new eyes.”`~~G.K. Chesterton

Guess you could say God was confirming to me that what I’d felt He told me was correct.   And it definitely excited me to continue to see what He has for me daily.   On January 2, God showed me “two” things…one a quote from another Facebook friend and another verse from yet another friend:   Isaiah 43:18,19  which reads in part, “Do not call to mind the former things, or ponder things of the past.  Behold, I will do something new….”

All I can do is urge you to try something NEW this year.   Whatever it is for you, I have no clue.  But I hope you seek God’s wisdom and trust Him to follow through.  May you be as surprised and excited as I am!

And by the way, God did it again TODAY…giving me my NEW quote within 10 minutes of starting my quest.  It’s amazing.   No, it is GOD!

by Cindy Best

