Winnie the Pooh tells Piglet that “love” is something you feel.  It’s not a noun, it’s a verb, says a popular song.  Love is something you “do” says another line.  Why is it we get so many descriptions–often contradictory–of what love is?

We can only experience love in the here-and-now moment.  If love happened yesterday, or an hour ago, it was something we “felt” (past tense).   If we expect love tomorrow, it is something that we “will be feeling” (let’s not even go into future present tense, etc.)!  So it seems that love can actually only be felt *in the moment* in which we are taking a breath.

Bonnie Thurston says:

“Many of us, at least internally, do not live in the here-and-now. We are consumed with what was or with what might be. A great deal of the spiritual anguish we experience is because we are not content to be, to live in the present. We are of the present, but not in it. It is by attentiveness in the present moment that we encounter God.”

I think that is why we so often feel a disconnect with what we know the Word of God teaches and what our own experience has been.  And the world we live in just feeds into that.  We are all about the “next thing on the list” of the day, or the week, or even the month.  Our Stephen Covey “planners” overflow with times, dates, lists, etc.  The calendar on our wall or refrigerator door is filled with the upcoming events for us, our kids, the family, work, etc.  Our minds threaten to carry us away with thoughts of what we forgot or fear of what we will forget.

Good grief, life is overwhelming!

planning ahead

I think Jesus had it right when we advised not to worry about tomorrow, today has enough troubles of its own.  And since I am not God, I cannot do anything about those troubles.  I need to “let go and let God” work on them.  I need to let Him carry me because He is the one who really does know what is ahead.  I need only to TRUST HIM.

Why?  Because He DIED for me.  He has written my name on His hand.  He promised me that He has prepared a wonderful place for me to live with Him forever.

I need to quit trying to be God…I have no superpowers…no seeing through walls, or into people’s hearts.   But God does!

And the love I want to feel the most is HIS LOVE!  In the here and now.  So I need to take a deep breath and breathe in God.  He is perfect love, and He loves me perfectly…in the present moment and through all moments to come.

by Cindy Best

