A friend of mine shared a delightful anecdote about her two-year old daughter trying to learn nursery rhymes.  She loves “Humpty Dumpty” but she can’t pronounce it correctly.  Instead she says, “Hunky Dunky.”  My friend doesn’t have the heart to correct her little girl because it’s so stinkin’ cute.  And I agree.  She’ll get it straight soon enough.  In the meantime, it is making great memories.

Also, that story made me recall my grand-daughter’s “special” words that I still use because they make me feel warm and fuzzy inside.  I knew what she meant, (like the word “mulk” for “milk”) and I always granted her requests.  What parent/grandparent wouldn’t grant a child’s request just because they didn’t pronounce the words correctly?

And my friend’s story made me think of praying to God.  Often I’m not sure if He understands what I mean.  Do you feel that way sometimes?

The Bible verses I cling to are found in Romans 8:26-27:

God’s Spirit is right alongside helping us along. If we don’t know how or what to pray, it doesn’t matter. He does our praying in and for us, making prayer out of our wordless sighs, our aching groans.

And since God is your Heavenly Parent, you don’t have to worry!   He understands.

Praise His Name!

by Cindy Best

