The Women of the Word (WOW) program at Westview Church is in its 9th season and I can think of two years that I was not able to participate. It’s been a program that is very near and dear to my heart and I’ve learned to schedule work and life to keep Tuesday mornings open. I have been so blessed by the teaching, by Pastor Susan’s steady leadership and by the other ladies at the various tables over the years. I had been content to be a table leader and a participant, but in the spring of 2010, I felt a desire to be more involved in WOW and help Susan so she could explore some other ministries. At the same time, Susan was thinking about a way to get me involved so after an exchange of e-mails, we had a chance to meet for lunch and talk about where to take this.  While I was thinking perhaps I could help Susan make copies or staple papers together, Susan had a different plan in mind for me. I don’t want to undermine the importance of copying or stapling, but Susan wanted me to take on more of a leadership role. I try very hard to avoid leadership roles. I was honored by Susan’s confidence in me, but honestly, it was a scary thought. But as I prayed about it and thought about it, it became clear that it was something I should go forward with.

It seems like so often, we think we are sailing along, happy, content and just fine thank you very much, and then we feel God calling us to do something that’s outside of our box and we try to avoid it, get out of it, deny the calling. I understand that people in the Bible were people just like we are and I’m reminded of God calling Moses to lead His people out of Egypt (Exodus 3-4:17). Moses tried his best to get out this (3:11, 3:13, 4:1, 4:10, 4:13), I mean he tried really hard, but in the end, he obeyed. Was everything just peachy after he led the Israelites out of Egypt? Not even close. They fought through many challenges, a lot of disobedience and lots of wandering through the desert.

I didn’t see a burning bush, but I felt God wanted me to step outside of that very comfortable comfort zone and accept this role. I’ve had concerns – would the ladies accept me and feel as comfortable with this program as they have with Susan? Am I at all capable of even doing this? How do I make sure everyone is growing and being fed the way they want to be through this program? And then I remember, oh yes, I am not the Junior Holy Spirit. I’m just Linda, trying to be the tool that God uses and then He can do the rest.  I would encourage everyone to step out, put yourself in a place that is, well, a little uncomfortable. It may be successful, it may not turn out so good. Even if you think it didn’t turn out so great, keep in mind that “As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my work that goes out from my mouth; it will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it” (Isaiah 55:10-11). Going beyond what you think you can do is definitely a growing and learning experience and it is rarely regretted.

Glory and Honor,

Linda

